World Padel Tour

In two unprecedented finals — they will compete for the Danish Open title


The title of champions of the World Padel Tour Danish Open will be defined in two never-before-seen finals, both in the men's and women's draw.

Women's category

In the second women's semifinal of the World Padel Tour Danish Open 2023, Alejandra Salazar and Gemma Triay took on Tamara Icardo and Virginia Riera in a thrilling match.

With a game that bordered on perfection, Tamara Icardo and Virginia Riera managed to take the lead on the scoreboard, claiming the first set by 6/3. 

The second set was highly disputed, with both teams showing a great level of play. With a tight score of 5-4, the Spanish-Argentine pairing had the chance to close out the match, but the world number two pairing managed to react, reaching the tiebreak where they managed to win, before finishing the comeback with a convincing 6/2 in the deciding set. 

The result, after three hours of intense play, was 3/6 7/6 6/2, so Triay and Salazar will face Delfina Brea and Bea Gonzalez, who reached the final in the first round in the morning. The young pairing pulled off the surprise of the tournament after knocking out the world number ones, 7/5 7/6.

Male category

The first finalists of the men's draw were defined in a duel of former partners between Sanyo Gutierrez/Momo Gonzalez vs Fernando Belasteguin/Mike Yanguas. A single break difference in the first set was enough for Sanyo and Momo to take the lead.

The same script followed in the second set, but this time it was Bela and Yanguas who got an early break that allowed them to level the score, forcing a third set.

There it was Sanyo and Momo who managed to win, to get the ticket to their first final by a score of 6/4 4/6 6/3.

On their way to the title they will have to face the "Superpibes" Franco Stupaczuk and Martin Di Nenno, who got a hard-fought victory over Maxi Sanchez and Lucas Campagnolo, by 7/6 6/2, reaching their fourth final of the season on the World Padel Tour.

The women's final will start at 10:00h (Local), to be followed immediately by the men's final.

The article is about: