World Padel Tour

Champions in Malmö - secure their fourth title: ”It's very emotional”


Bea González and Delfi Brea were crowned champions in Malmö after defeating Alejandra Salazar and Sofia Araujo.
The pair secured their fourth WPT title of the year.

In the morning, the women's final of the World Padel Tour Malmö Open was played. The two best pairs in the tournament had shown impressive results and secured the tickets to the final match.

Alejandra Salazar and Sofia Araujo defeated world number ones Paula Josemaria and Ariana Sánchez yesterday and qualified for their second WPT final together. In the final, the Spanish-Portuguese duo played against Bea Gonzalez and Delfi Brea who were chasing another title this year.

The final

The match started evenly where both pairs were strong in their own serve games. It was first at 5-4 lead that González/Brea managed to win the break and won the first part of the match.

González/Brea started the second set strongly and took a 3-1 lead but the Spanish-Portuguese duo managed to equalise the score. Most of the match was dominated by long balls where both pairs had to fight for the points.

With a 4-3 lead in the second set, González/Brea managed to win the break after an exciting "Golden Point" and could then serve home the title with the result 6-4, 6-3.

— It's very emotional, it's a long season and we are at the end of it. We are tired after all the travelling and everything else. But we are really happy for this victory today," Brea told Viaplay after the win. 

The article is about: