World Padel League

Guide: World Padel League kicks off — All you need to know about the first edition


From Thursday 8 June until Sunday 11 June, four teams will battle it out at the Coca Cola Arena in Dubai to become the first champions of the competition.

The first edition of the World Padel League kicks off today in the Arab Emirates. The tournament will have a new format, never seen before in a padel competition.

In the first phase, to be played between Thursday and Saturday, four teams made up of seven of the world's best players will play each other. Each of the encounters will consist of four matches: one mixed, one women's and two men's, with a local player taking part in one of them.

The two winning teams, which will be determined by the overall sum of the games won in the matches, will face each other in the grand final on Sunday.

The competition will be held at the state-of-the-art Coca-Cola Arena in Dubai, an indoor stadium with a capacity of 17,000 spectators. In addition to the matches, fans will be able to enjoy world-class concerts and shows.

The action will start this Thursday, from 14:00h (12:00h CET), and will be broadcasted on the World Padel Legue YouTube channel and the sweden website Padel-television.

Order of play of the opening phase

Thursday 8 June

14:00h - Cheetahs vs Jaguars

18:00h - Tigers vs Panthers

Friday 9 June

14:00h -Tigers vs Jaguars

18:00h - Cheetahs vs Panthers

Saturday 10 June

14:00h - Tigers vs Cheetahs

18:00h - Jaguars vs Panthers


Jaguars: Franco Stupaczuk, Sanyo Gutiérrez, Momo González, Gemma Triay, Carolina Navarro e Ibrahim Alabdulla.

Cheetahs: Pablo Lima, Paula Josemaría, Ari Sánchez, Virginia Riera, Fernando Belasteguín, Mike Yanguas y Abdullah Ahli.

Panthers: Álex Ruiz, Aranza Osoro, Arturo Coello, Lucía Sainz, Bea González, Javi Garrido y Fares Aljanahi.

Tigers: Delfi Brea, Paquito Navarro, Victoria Iglesias, Fede Chingotto, Marta Ortega, Juan Tello y Salem Alhouli.

The article is about: